Analyzing the technological environment with Compared Cross Impact

Fraunhofer INT

Application

The current technological landscape (from point of view of a company) contains information about technological know-how of a company and about technological know-how of company's competitors. The landscape also considers relationships that occur between technologies. Based on the landscape and on landscape's change over time, relative strengths and relative weaknesses of the company's technological activities can be shown. This supports technological planning of the company.

Problem: The creation of a technological landscape and the monitoring of the changes over time is time and cost consuming especially for companies dealing with many different technologies.

Solution: The Compared Cross Impact approach supports the creation of the technological landscape for a company and it supports monitoring of landscape's changes over time. Text mining and text classification approaches are used to discover relationships between technologies. Technological know-how of company's competitors is received by patent data and by an internet scanning procedure. Thus, this approach shows relative strengths and relative weaknesses of the company's technological know how and it enables to advance technological planning of the company.

Case Study

Approaches and case studies are published in

Thorleuchter, D., Van den Poel, D., Prinzie, A.: A compared R&D-based and patent-based cross impact analysis for identifying relationships between technologies. Technological Forecasting and Social Change 77 (7), 2010, 1037-1050.

Thorleuchter, D., Van den Poel, D.: Quantitative cross impact analysis with latent semantic indexing. Expert Systems with Applications, 41 (2), 2014, 406-411.

Thorleuchter, D., Van den Poel, D.: Semantic Compared Cross Impact Analysis. Expert Systems with Applications, 41 (7), 2014, 3477-3483.

Please contact us, if you would like to use Compared Cross Impact in your company.

Analyse des technologischen Umfelds mit Compared Cross Impact
 

Fraunhofer INT

Anwendung

Der Vergleich des eigenen technologischen Standes (Know How) und aller damit verknüpfter technologischen Beziehungen mit dem der Konkurrenten stellt die aktuelle Technologielandschaft aus Sicht des Unternehmens mit eigenen technologischen Stärken und Schwächen dar. Die Darstellung einer solchen Technologielandschaft im Zeitverlauf stellt technologische Trendentwicklungen aus Sicht des Unternehmens vor dem Hintergrund einer sich verändernden Konkurrenzsituation dar. Damit lässt sich die strategisch technologische Planung wirkungsvoll unterstützen.

Problem: Die Erstellung eines solchen Vergleichs für ein Unternehmen, welches eine Vielzahl an verschiedenen Technologien parallel bearbeitet und damit auch eine Vielzahl an Konkurrenten aufweist, ist zeit- und kostenaufwendig.

Lösung: Der Compared Cross Impact Ansatz unterstützt die Darstellung der aktuellen Technologielandschaft aus Sicht des Unternehmens. Der Ansatz kombiniert Methoden aus dem Textmining und der semantischen Textklassifikation zur Einordnung eigener technologischer Forschungs- und Entwicklungsaktivitäten in die Technologielandschaft. Zudem werden Patentinformationen mit Methoden aus dem Webmining und der Bibliometrie erkannt und ebenfalls in die Technologielandschaft eingeordnet. Im Ergebnis werden technologische Stärken, technologische Schwächen und technologische Gleichgewichte eines Unternehmens gegenüber seiner Konkurrenten erkannt und im Zeitverlauf dargestellt.

Fallstudie

Diese Cross Impact Ansätze einschließlich Fallstudien sind publiziert worden in

Thorleuchter, D., Van den Poel, D., Prinzie, A.: A compared R&D-based and patent-based cross impact analysis for identifying relationships between technologies. Technological Forecasting and Social Change 77 (7), 2010, 1037-1050.

Thorleuchter, D., Van den Poel, D.: Quantitative cross impact analysis with latent semantic indexing. Expert Systems with Applications, 41 (2), 2014, 406-411.

Thorleuchter, D., Van den Poel, D.: Semantic Compared Cross Impact Analysis. Expert Systems with Applications, 41 (7), 2014, 3477-3483.

Wir unterstützen Sie gerne bei der Anwendung dieser Cross Impact Ansätze in Ihrem Unternehmen.